Organic Brown Rice Changed Up

I like to eat rice now and then, and I changed up my rice with several ingredients that I think more people will begin adding once they get exposure to this idea.   It’s really simple once you let your mind flow when you add what you want to.

rice-with-parsley-sm-slide-mount

Let’s start with a stick of butter. I have read that butter is much better for you than margarine, so I buy butter these days.  I put the butter into a large pot of boiling water, then shake some sea salt into the water when it begins to boil.

Lundberg Sprouted Brown Basmati Rice, 16 Ounce

I turn the heat down on my six cups of filtered water.  I then place two cups of organically-grown brown rice and add some coconut oil as well.  I get busy adding spices and veggies, like spinach, into the rice while it cooks.  Some of my favorites are: turmeric, pepper, onion powder, garlic salt and oregano.  I know I am getting my good nutrition for the day and for many days in a row!  After 45 minutes and the rice is cooked.  I then cool it down in the pan before transferring it to plastic (yep, I know, I’m working on getting plastic out of my diet) containers for storage in the refrigerator and my freezer.

I want to tell you that I found the organic brown rice in a grocery store and am glad I bought it.  Some people have celiac and other problems with their guts.  I found a site that says organically grown wheat may or may not cause the problems that some have with wheat, but here’s the link in case you’d like to read about it.                     

Author: annetaylor53015

Writing blogs about food and about Islam in America at healingandjuicing.wordpress.com and also at commentarystampede.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

